Where to Buy Cake Decorating Supplies in Calgary

Here is a list of cake decorating supply stores in Calgary, Alberta, Canada that I am aware of. If you have any other suggestions, please feel free to add a comment below. Each store is good for specific items, and some even offer cake decorating classes:

PM Hobbycrafthttp://www.pmhobbycraft.ca/store/

PM Hobbycraft carries many brands and a large selection of cake supplies: fondant, gumpaste, cake styrofoam dummies, cutters, boards, and more.

  • North Store: 2020J 32 Avenue Northeast, Calgary, AB T2E 6T4, (403) 291-2733
  • South Store: 1221 73 Ave SE, Calgary AB T2H 2X1, (403)252-6643

Michaelshttp://www.michaels.com/art/online/home

A 40% off coupon is often available through the Michaels Weekly Ad. Michaels carries Wilton cake decorating supplies, but have also introduced other brands such as Duff’s Buttercream Fondant.

Bulk Barnhttp://www.bulkbarn.ca/

Bulk Barn carries offers a huge variety of baking ingredients. In addition, they also carry cake decorating supplies, and equipment: cake pans, cake boxes, fondant, sprinkles, and more.  They also offer shaped cake pan rentals.  Click here for store locator.

  • Calgary Horizon Square: 3508 32nd Avenue NE, Calgary AB, T1Y 6J2, 403-250-1399
  • Calgary McLeod Plaza: 9250 MacLeod Trail SE, Calgary AB, T2J 0P5, 403-252-5232
  • Calgary (South McKenzie Town): 4889 130 Avenue South East, Calgary AB, T2Z 4J2, 403-271-8384
  • Okotoks location: 313-105 Southbank Blvd, Okotoks AB T1S0G1

The Market Place at SAIT, Main Campushttp://saitmarketplace.wordpress.com/

The Market Place at SAIT carries Satin Ice fondant (20lb pails for the best price in Calgary), Chefmaster food colouring (bulk size), isomalt, Silpats, marzipan, and Lindt chocolate couverture(in 2.5 kg bags). Here you can also buy foods made by students in the baking, cooking and meat programs. I suggest calling them at 403-774-5072 ahead of time to check if your item is in store. See the above link for directions.

Cakes N More http://www.cakesnmore.ca/

Cakes N More specializes in cake decorating and sugar craft/gum paste flower making supplies, including but not limited to: stencils, cutters, silicone leaf/petal veiners, Satin Ice fondant, Platinum Paste gumpaste, petal dust, powder and lustre colors. A great selection of styrofoam cake dummies too.

Walmart

Walmart has expanded their cake decorating section to include a greater quantity &  selection of  Wilton brand of cake decorating supplies. In most Walmarts, the cake decorating supplies can be found alongside the craft section.

Homesensehttp://www.homesense.ca/en/index.asp

At Homesense, products differ weekly, and from store to store. I have found here digital scales, baking pans, cookie cutters, etc.

Online Cake Decorating Supply Websites in Canada

I am aware of the following websites that service Canada, but have not necessarily tried each one:

31 thoughts on “Where to Buy Cake Decorating Supplies in Calgary

  1. Pingback: Where to Buy Baking Supplies in Calgary « Cake Stories by Rose Sen

  2. Hi

    What great tips, thanks so much. I am looking for high ratio shortning in Calgary. Do you know where to get it.

    Thanks so much

    • Janice – Thanks for the comment! The only place I personally know of right now that carries high ratio shortening in Calgary is the wholesale distributor Bakemark.

      • Yes, thanks so much for the info, Rose! I didn’t know about the Bulk Barn opening or the new place in Penticton.

        Can the public order from Bakemark?

  3. Hi, I am looking for an edible marker, and wondering if your store carries them? Or where I might be able to get them.

    Thanks,
    Shawn

  4. Thanks for posting this! I was in need of a new bucket of Satin Ice fondant when I came across your posting. I never knew Sait sold it and it’s so much cheaper to buy it there than PM Hobby. Sait sells theirs for $89 (including GST) vs. PM Hobby, when I phoned them this morning said their 20 lb bucket is $117 +GST. So, thank you for letting me know that Sait sells it.
    Also, I’ve been really wanting to try out Isomalt. Do you know of any really good tutorials on how to get started on it?? I know you can melt it and mix it with food coloring, but I don’t know if you melt it by itself or add water or what. I’m at a loss. But, I’d like to try it out one of these days.

    Thanks again.

    • Hi Amber! I’m glad the post helped!

      As for working with Isomalt, I found this post on the Chef Talk Forums helpful:

      http://www.cheftalk.com/forum/thread/29310/sugar-art-isomalt-questions

      Felixe states: “…You only need enough water to “wet” the isomalt to the consistency of wet sand. If you add too much water and the batch takes too long to cook, the isomalt will release its water and become brittle to use. In humid locations you should cook the isomalt from a dry state without using water. Remember – it caramelises at over 200 degrees celcius so if you are diligent you are not going to burn it.

      Next – add your colour – whatever it may be at around 140 degrees celcius. You add colour at this stage so there is sufficient time in the cooking process to drive off the moisture from the colour.

      Finally – cook the isomalt to 170 degrees celcius, then plunge the pan into cold water to stop the cooking, let it “stand” on a cloth for a few minutes to settle so you don’t pour in bubbles from the cooking process into your casting.”

      If you will be dropping by SAIT, There are also some great books on sugar work that you can take a look at in their library.

      The book “Sucre D’art” by Pastry Chef Stephane Klein has some amazing photos. The baking/culinary books are downstairs in basement of the library. Occasionally you’ll find me there. 😉

      • Thanks for the tips on isomalt! Maybe I’ll get a chance to try it out this summer.
        And thanks for letting me know about their library too. I’ll have to look up that book one day. Hmmm… I wonder if the public library carries it. Stopping in at SAIT is always tough cause I’ve usually got at least one little one in tow with me. But, if I’m ever there at SAIT, I’ll keep an eye open for you. 😉

  5. Thanks so much for this site! I live in South Korea and it’s hard to find things for cake decorating and baking in general! A friend is going to Calgary next month and has offered to pick up a few things for me^^ Thanks to you, I know where to send her! I can wait to get my hands on some edible ink pens… Any brand suggestions? Cheers!

  6. Pingback: Where to Buy Cake Decorating Supplies Online in Canada | CAKE STORIES by Rose Sen

  7. Does anyone know where I can purchase some cupcake/muffin containers. I’m looking for the kind you get at the grocery store. They are the plastic hinged units which hold 6 cupcakes.
    Thanks! Kelly

  8. Hi Rose, I am looking for a place in Calgary that sells edible logos for a cupcake topper do you know where I can find one. Thanks

  9. Hi Rose, I am looking for a company that sells edible cupcake toppers in Calgary, do you know where I can find one. Thanks

  10. Hi, I am wondering if you know of any place in calgary that sells chocolate cigarellos? I need something similar, as I want to put them around a cake. My niece wants a family recipe black forest cake for her wedding, and I am worried about how to do it. I thought I could surround it with chocolate cigarellos, or similar, but cannot find anywhere to buy them. Thank you so much

  11. Thanks for the great ideas where to shop in Calgary. There’s also a bigger bulk barn store in Okotoks. It has even more selection than the store in the North. Not too far to drive if you live in the south.

  12. Thanks for the great suggestion! Just starting to try cake decorating with fondant. Can you tell me how much fondant I would need to cover a 2 layer 10″ round cake? I wanted to get the Duff fondant (as per your recommendations) but the container says its only enough for a 2 layer 8″ round cake – not sure if that is 100% accurate or not. Thanks!

    • Hi Amy, great question. It all depends on how thin you roll your fondant. I like to roll my fondant 1/8th to 1/16th of an inch, but if you are just beginning, you may need more.

  13. Hi Rose
    Do you know where I can rent an airbrush to complete a birthday cake? I would by one but PM Hobbycraft is all out and I haven’t found anywhere else to purchase them in Calgary.
    thanks

    • Hi Michelle, sorry, I do not know of any places that offer them for rent. There are more affordable options such as the Duff brand airbrush at Michaels. Any artist air compressor(low PSI) will work. I have not tried it myself, but I heard that cans of air can be used.

      Hope that helps,
      R.

  14. there is a place called Nicolson Equipment in Edmonton. they sell wholesale to anyone. They have all different cake supplies, airbrush systems, edible markers, satin ice, dragees, pans, wedding stoppers, boards and drums, edible images,etc. They will ship anywhere in Canada. Their staff is helpful and friendly.

Leave a Reply

