Best Chocolate Cake Recipe

My awesome friend just passed this chocolate cake recipe onto me, and I think it’s amazing. Above is what’s left of it, at least.

It’s got that texture of the a cake made from a box, yet it’s from scratch. The secret is in the high sugar content. In this recipe the weight of the sugar greatly exceeds that of of the flour. Not only does sugar create a tender product, it also helps retain the moisture in the cake.

I didn’t have any instructions with it, so I just tried mixing the dry together, then mixing the wet together, then mixing the two, and voila! Awesome fluffy, soft, tender, chocolatey, moist cake. If only all things in life could be this easy…

I think it’s the all the liquid and oil in it that really keep the moisture in. The finished batter itself had the consistency of cream. I wasn’t so sure when I put it in the oven because it was so liquid – but it really surprised me by how much it actually rose!

Easy-peasy to make and in my opinion, one of the best scratch cakes I’ve ever had:

  • 800 g granulated sugar
  • 510 g all purpose flour
  • 113 g cocoa
  • 11 g baking powder
  • 13 g baking soda
  • 11 g salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 500 mL milk
  • 250 mL vegetable oil
  • 20 g vanilla
  • 500 mL hot water or coffee
  1. Sift sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt together.
  2. Beat eggs,  milk, oil and vanilla together.
  3. Mix dry ingredients with wet ingredients in mixer with paddle until combined. Add boiling hot water or coffee. The batter will be very runny. Mix with paddle until there are no lumps (I think I did it at the end for about 20 seconds).
  4. Bake at 375 for 40-45 minutes, or until cakes springs back lightly to the touch and pulls from the sides of the pan. Makes 2 x 10″ rounds that are a 2″ high.

I’m not exactly sure where this recipe came from, but in my recipe sleuthing I’ve noticed  that there are many sources and variations. Here is a similar version of it in volume cup & spoon measurements on the Food Network Website.

Update: January 29th, 2011 – I’ve done some trials and I found that this cake has worked well for me to sculpt shapes that aren’t too tall. It has worked well in these cakes:

Giant Cupcake Cake


11 thoughts on “Best Chocolate Cake Recipe

  1. I made some cupcakes using this recipe for a little shin-dig with some friends yesterday, and it turnd out amazing! I’ve never had cake that was so moist before. I just wanted to thank you for sharing it with us 🙂

  2. Pingback: Big Cupcake Cake « Cake Stories by Rose Sen

    • Hello Catherine,

      Thank you for your question. Yes this recipe will work under fondant as long as swiss meringue buttercream or ganache is used as your base layer/crumb coat, and as long as there are cake boards every 4″ of cake height.

      Hope that helps,
      Rose

      • Yes, that helps greatly. Thank you! Another quick question….I was told that any frosting could be used under fondant (like American BC), why do you suggest SMBC or ganache? I have not been very successful with my fondant application and have been researching how to apply it correctly. And just a thin crumb coat, right? Thank you!!

      • Hi Catherine,

        While it is possible to use American/shortening/crusting icing or frosting, I find this type of icing soft, and the icing either squishes down when fondant is applied, or the ripples of the cake easily show.

        SMBC and ganache set up quite firm, which creates a better surface to adhere the fondant to. I prefer about a 1/4″ thick crumbcoat of SMBC or ganache, and a 1/8″ thickness of fondant on top.

        -R

      • Oh, I see. That makes a lot of sense…..I appreciate your feedback! Do you keep fondant covered cake refrigerated until delivery? or is it fine to keep at room temp in not-so-hot weather. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

