Lamborghini Diablo SE30 Car Cake

I had the awesome opportunity to see & create a Lamborghini Diablo SE30 car cake:

Lamborghini Diablo SE30 Car Cake

I can’t get over how special the Diablo SE30 is!

A few things I learned about the impressive Lamborghini Diablo Special Edition 30 while creating this cake:

  • it was designed with the powerful guts of a race vehicle, and has the option of  an JOTA upgrade kit which would allow it to function as an actual circuit racer
  • it was released in 1993 to celebrate the company’s 30th anniversary
  • only 150 were made

More about the Diablo SE30:

How to Make a 3D Car Cake

Now how do you make a Lamborghini cake? I find that careful planning of size, proportion, and detail are key.

The very best resource I have come across in how to carve & sculpt a 3D car cake is the Cakenology – Episode 1 Car Cakes DVD by Mike McCarey.

I have applied many techniques covered in this DVD towards other types of realistic 3D cakes.

This DVD can be purchased globally from Mike’s Amazing Cakes at Cakenology.com, or in Canada from Flour Confections.

7 thoughts on “Lamborghini Diablo SE30 Car Cake

  1. Rose, this cake was *unbelievable*! All of our guests were Twittering and Facebooking this cake when they arrived. John said we cake bossed him LOL. You rock the cake world!

  2. hi ,
    I am from Dubai. I loved this cake. I want to make it for my husband’s birthday. could you let me know how to make it?the pictures are nice. what are the measurements. Did you do buttercream, white fondant and then pink fondant?

  3. My fiance wants a lamborghini aventador as his groom’s cake for our wedding… I had planned on making his cake myself but wow! IDK how I’m going to pull that off… I will be looking at this for inspiration! This is truly awesome! Maybe I can figure out how to make his cake through this… any suggestions on cake? Does the cake have to be a certain consistency (spongy, firm?) for something like this to work? I’ve only ever done classic layered cakes, so this is very new to me!

Leave a Reply

