Royal Icing Victorian Style Cake

Royal Icing CakeVictorian Style CakeFine Piping on CakeVictorian CakeRoyal Icing Piping on CakeVictorian Lambeth Style CakeCake Piping DecorationPiping on Cake
In my eternal study of cake decorating, my latest obsession involves delving into the history and beginning of cake.

So far I have learned that it began in the ages of kings and queens – from this I realize where the name “royal” icing must have come from. Before fondant and before soft buttercream icings, fruit cake was covered in royal icing, a simple mixture of two ingredients: icing sugar and egg whites. And with such a pure & simple medium, I am amazed that so much can be created with it!

The practice dummy was first iced in several thin layers of royal icing, allowing it to dry hard in between. 3-4 layers were needed to coat the cake. To decorate this, no molds were used here – just simple piping with a piping tube and some tips. The borders and lattice are built up with several layers of piping on top of each other, allowing the layers to dry in between.

Marian was the one I went to learn the secrets of royal icing – and she graciously shared her amazing skills and techniques. For that I owe her a forever thank you.

I’m very grateful for all the cake decorators I have had a chance to meet, whether they be beginners, professionals, or hobbyists – I find that these are all people of kind hearts and of giving and they have taught me so much. Cake & life is about sharing after all, and the people and cake decorators I meet really get it. I want to keep this as a keepsake piece as a reminder for me that the foundation of cake decorating is not necessarily just technique, but also the generosity of people in passing that technique on.

8 thoughts on “Royal Icing Victorian Style Cake

  1. Hi Rose, this is absolutely beautiful and I’m soooo impressed with your principles and values regarding cake and life…—-…”share knowledge, happiness and harmony with others through cake”…—- if everyone would apply this principle to other areas in life this would be a better world, no kidding!
    Rose–God will always bless you 🙂

    Rosie L

  2. Pingback: Baptism Cake | CAKE STORIES by Rose Sen

  3. I found your work through “Cake Wrecks” and their Sunday Sweets feature. Your work is genuinely breathtakingly beautiful. The people who are lucky enough to have a cake made by you … well, I think they have a mouthful of joy with every bite!

  4. I stumbled accross your site looking for Victorian Piping, I’m a Culinary Student (Baking and Pastry) and am doing a cake final, and choose a Victorian Style Cake. I just want to say your work is absolutely AMAZING!!! I wish I had a 1/4 of your talent.

Leave a Reply

